skip to content | Accessibility Information

2013 Manchester Poetry Prize Judges

Bernard O'Donoghue

Bernard O'Donoghue was born in Cullen, County Cork in 1945. He is a Fellow of Wadham College, Oxford, where he teaches Medieval English. He has published six collections of poetry, Poaching Rights (1987), The Weakness (1991), Gunpowder (winner of the 1995 Whitbread Award for Poetry), Here Nor There (1999), Outliving (2003) and Farmer’s Cross (2011).  His Selected Poems was published by Faber in 2008. Click here for website.

O-Donoghue, Bernard
Adam O'Riordan
Adam O'Riordan returns to chair the Manchester Poetry Prize panel for a second time. He is Lecturer in Creative Writing in the Manchester Writing School at MMU. In 2008, he became the Wordsworth Trust Centre for British Romanticism's youngest ever poet-in-residence and his first collection, In the Flesh, won a 2011 Somerset Maugham Award. He is the Manchester Literature Festival's Writer-in-Residence at the Midland Hotel, Manchester, for 2013. Poet Laureate Carol Ann Duffy describes him as, "a real rising star – one of the next generation of world-class poets". Click here for website.
Adam O'Riordan
Fiona Sampson

Fiona Sampson is a prize-winning poet and critic who has published more than twenty books of poetry, criticism and philosophy of language. She has received the Newdigate Prize, a Cholmondeley Award and Writer’s Awards from the Arts Councils of England and of Wales. She has been shortlisted twice for the T.S. Eliot and Forward prizes, is a Fellow and Council Member of the Royal Society of Literature, and the Editor of Poem: International Literary Review. Click here for website.

Fiona Simpson.

Macdonald HotelsThe 2013 Manchester Writing Competition is sponsored by MACDONALD Hotels and Resorts.

top of page top of page