skip to content | Accessibility Information

Manchester Writing Competition 2016

The winners will be announced at 9pm on Friday 25th November. For news and updates please see:


The 2016 Manchester Poetry and Fiction Prizes are now closed to online and postal entries. Visit the Poetry Prize page or the Fiction Prize page for more details about the short-lists and winners of this year's £10,000 prizes. For information about the prize-giving ceremony, please visit:

> The Manchester Poetry Prize - £10,000*

> The Manchester Fiction Prize - £10,000*

* Terms and conditions apply – see the pages for each Prize for full details.

About the Manchester Writing Competition

The Manchester Writing Competition was established by Poet Laureate Carol Ann Duffy in 2008, funded in the first instance by the Manchester Metropolitan University’s innovative Enterprise Fellowship scheme. The project was designed to attract the best new writing from around the world, and to establish Manchester as the focal point for a major literary award. Since it began, the Competition has awarded more than £115,000 to its winners. These are the UK’s biggest literary awards for unpublished writing.

Initially, the Competition alternated annually between Poetry and Fiction but, from 2013, both will be running every year, with £10,000* awarded to the writer of the best portfolio of poetry, and another £10,000* to the writer of the best short story.

To find out more about our courses, events and competitions visit the Manchester Writing School website or contact +44 (0) 161 247 1787/1797.